Picture of a woman holding her head in her hands

Domestic violence and abuse can happen to anyone; it does not discriminate

News outlets across the country have reported a rise in domestic violence during the COVID-19 pandemic –when families are essentially confined to homes, where a victim can’t easily escape an abuser. Abusers have more tactics at their disposal when victims can’t easily get away from home.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 in 3 women and 1 in 4 men in the United States have experienced violence from a partner in their lifetime — and the risks to victims can be severe.

Seeking Help

Victims of domestic violence face more social isolation in general, even when there isn’t a widespread pandemic.  With the multitude of entities closed to the public, it is important for those in high risk situations to know that courts and many domestic violence organizations, phone hotlines, and shelters are available to help.

Domestic violence organizations are also working to develop new strategies to support victims during the pandemic, such as offering hotline services through online chats or texting, in case victims cannot call with an abuser at home.

Resources Available

Below are links to local organizations that can provide you with information on how to stay safe from domestic abuse or get help if needed:

Buffalo:

Crisis Services: http://crisisservices.org/

Western NY 211: http://www.211wny.org/

Family Justice Center: https://www.fjcsafe.org/

Erie County Department of Social Services: https://www2.erie.gov/socialservices/domestic-violence

Rochester:

Willow Domestic Violence Center: https://willowcenterny.org/

YWCA of Rochester & Monroe County: https://www.ywcarochester.org/

YWCA Emergency Housing page:  https://www.ywcarochester.org/what-we-do/housing/emergency-housing/

Catholic Family Center: https://www.cfcrochester.org/our-services/empowering-the-vulnerable/shelters/

Sojourner Home: https://www.sojournerhome.org/

Domestic Abuse Support Services – 2-1-1 Life Line: https://211lifeline.org/categories.php?cat=DomAbuse

Domestic Shelters search site (by zip code or city): https://www.domesticshelters.org/

Southern Tier:

Crime Victims Association Center: http://www.cvac.us/

Family Violence Prevention: http://www.gobroomecounty.com/fvpc

Catholic Charities of Chemung and Schuyler: https://cs-cc.org/

Syracuse:

Vera House: https://www.verahouse.org/

Salvation Army Women’s Shelter: https://syracuseny.salvationarmy.org/

211 CNY: https://www.211cny.com/catsearch.php?cat=dovh

Utica

Mohawk Valley YWCA: https://www.ywcamv.org/what-we-do/domestic-violence-services/

Help Restore Hope Center: http://www.helprestorehopecenter.org/

Opportunities for Otsego: http://www.ofoinc.org/find-program/violence-intervention-program/

 

Melissa Klinko

Melissa lives in Vestal N.Y. with her husband and daughter and their naughty but lovable yellow lab, Molly. She only has one child but always has 3 or 4 more kids traveling with her to a fun event or most likely Starbucks.You might even see Melissa traveling throughout the neighborhood on her golf cart, wearing her Bryan Adams concert shirt, of course!Melissa is an Ithaca College Alum and visits Ithaca often to hike the falls or visit the farmers market. She is regional communications manager for Excellus BlueCross BlueShield.
Melissa Klinko

Latest posts by Melissa Klinko (see all)

Leave a Reply

Feel free to comment on this blog post. Please be advised that we will remove comments that do not meet the Comment Posting Guidelines. If you want to send a private message, email SocialMediaExcellus@excellus.com. For more information, please see our Comment Posting Guidelines.